Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Dodgy short film script competitions

  1. #1
    Inactive Member The Woddler's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 15th, 1999
    Posts
    28
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Post

    Is it just me or does the 'amazing' short film script competition run by Kaos Films (www.kaosfilms.co.uk) sound more than a little suspect? You have to pay ?35 to enter your 5-12 minute script and the site looks decidedly amateur.
    Does anyone know if these people are above board?
    Do any of you know any reliable (and preferably cheaper) short film script competitions?

    Cheers

    W

    ------------------
    [email protected]

  2. #2
    Inactive Member Mods's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 25th, 2001
    Posts
    687
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Post

    I personally wouldn't get involved with anything I don't find on the BFI web site or similar.

    Mods

    ------------------
    Mark "Mods" Lovegrove

  3. #3
    Inactive Member Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13th, 2001
    Posts
    160
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Post

    I love how it's sponsored by Panavision and Fujifilm but I guess not of that sponsorship cash went to making that website. smile

    ------------------

  4. #4
    Inactive Member Vertino's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 9th, 1999
    Posts
    388
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Post

    Kaos Films probably got told that a decent website would have cost them a fair whack... so they got some 16 year lad to make it!

    and according to the META tags... it was made with...
    <meta name="GENERATOR" content="Microsoft FrontPage Express 2.0">
    nothing good can come from this!

    as for the competition.... I can't help but feel that its some sort of scam.... a group of "producers" who are waiting around for a script to make into a short film.... hence the entrance fee!!!

    However they do claim that Stephen Woolley & Nik Powell are judging it... so it can't be that dodgy?!?!?

    ------------------
    Exposure Shorts
    http://www.exposureshorts.co.uk/

    [This message has been edited by Vertino (edited January 05, 2002).]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •